Print Friendly

Select Language

South Asia

Civil Peace Service in Nepal

 

Eleven years after the end of the armed conflict, the Nepalese society is still deeply divided. The promotion of a peaceful and constructive coexistence, the protection of human and minority rights, as well as a comprehensive and critical dealing with the past are among the most fundamental challenges on Nepal’s road ahead. The recent earthquake has devastated the country but could also bring people together.

 

Against this background, within the framework of the Civil Peace Service we support our local partners to achieve the following main objectives:

• The creation of spaces for dialogue to promote local peace- and participatory decision-making structures

• The recognition of human and minority rights in Nepal

• The strengthening of awareness-raising and reflection processes in dealing with the past and the creating of safe spaces for dealing with experienced trauma and human rights violations.

                 

 

 

Our Partners


The Nepali network organisation Collective Campaign for Peace (COCAP) was founded in 2003 and has its main office is Kathmandu. COCAP acts as an umbrella organization for 40 member organizations, which are involved in human rights work in all areas of Nepal. Besides offering trainings for its employees, volunteers and member organizations, in recent years COCAP made a public appearance especially with extensive campaigns on social policy issues, including on the Constituent Assembly and caste-based discrimination. In the framework of the Civil Peace Service KURVE Wustrow supports COCAP in the development and implementation of effective Lobby and Advocacy activities for better recognition of human and minority rights.

 

Nagarik Aawaz was founded in 2001, as a direct response to the escalating violence following the royal massacre. The Headquarter is in Kathmandu. Nagarik Aawaz supports communities and grassroots groups in their efforts for peace, justice, harmony and progress, and is committed towards working at various interfaces of peace and reconciliation in Nepal. In this framework, the organisation implements a range of programs, aimed at target groups that have particularly suffered under the consequences of the armed conflict. First and foremost, this is done by mobilizing young activists at community level who, as so called “Peace Ambassadors”, strengthen social relations and support the reintegration of internally displaced people. Through the CPS-cooperation KURVE Wustrow the work on conflict transformation as well as their advocacy efforts will be strengthened.

 

SUPPORT Nepal is engaged in peace work since 1996. Aim of the organisation is to eliminate existing inequalities and discrimination that ethnic, religious, and linguistic minorities, Madeshi, Dalit, and especially women suffer from. In the premises of the organisation is also the secretariat of the National Federation of Minorities in Nepal (N-Fem), which is an umbrella organisation for more than 210 minority groups. SUPPORT Nepal has a contact office in Kathmandu, however, it works mainly in the eastern and western Terai and advocates for the active participation of minority groups in the drafting process of a new constitution and new laws, in order for their concerns to be adequately addressed. In the framework of the CPS-cooperation KURVE Wustrow supports SUPPORT Nepal in carrying out effective training, lobby and advocacy activities – across group boundaries – that promote the participation and inclusion of minority groups.

Project Details at a Glance



Title:

“Strengthening local capacities for peace, with a special focus on human and minority rights”

 

Partner:

Collective Campaign for Action (COCAP)

Nagarik Aawaz 

SUPPORT Nepal 

Women for Human Rights

Asian Academy for Peace, Research and Development


International Peace Worker:

Hauke Steg-Böttcher (COCAP)

Johanna Sell (Nagarik Aawaz)

Esther Mydla (Asian Academy for Peace, Research and Development)

Chris Hartmann (Regional Coordinator)

Contact Person: Laura Weber lweber(at)kurvewustrow.org

Print Friendly

Select Language

Südasien

Ziviler Friedensdienst in Nepal

 

Auch acht Jahre nach Ende des bewaffneten Konfliktes ist die nepalesische Gesellschaft noch immer tief gespalten. Die Förderung eines friedlichen Neben- und konstruktiven Miteinanders, der Schutz von Menschen- und Minderheitenrechten sowie eine umfassende und kritische Aufarbeitung der Vergangenheit zählen zu den wesentlichsten Herausforderungen. Das schwere Erdbeben hat viel Zerstörung mit sich gebracht, aber könnte auch die Menschen zusammenführen.

 

Vor diesem Hintergrund unterstützen wir im Rahmen des Zivilen Friedensdienstes unsere lokalen Partner darin, folgende Hauptziele zu erreichen:

• Das Schaffen von Dialogräumen zur Förderung von lokalen Friedens- und partizipativen Entscheidungsstrukturen;

• Die Anerkennung von Menschen- und Minderheitenrechten in Nepal;

• Das stärken von Bewusstseinsbildungs- und Reflexionsprozessen im Umgang mit der Vergangenheit und Schaffen von sicheren Räumen zur Aufarbeitung von erlebten Traumata und Menschenrechtsverletzungen.

                 

 

 

Unsere Partner

 

Die nepalesische Netzwerkorganisation Collective Campaign for Peace (COCAP) wurde 2003 mit Sitz in Kathmandu gegründet. COCAP fungiert als Dachorganisation für über 40 Mitgliedsorganisationen, die sich im Bereich Menschenrechte in allen Teilen Nepals engagieren. Neben weiterbildenden Trainings für seine Mitarbeiter, Freiwilligen und Mitgliedsorganisationen ist COCAP in den letzten Jahren vor allem mit umfangreichen Kampagnen zu sozialpolitischen Themen in Erscheinung getreten, u.a. zur verfassungsgebenden Versammlung und kastenbasierter Diskriminierung. Im Rahmen des Zivilen Friedensdienstes unterstütz die KURVE Wustrow COCAP bei der Entwicklung und Implementierung effektiver Lobby- und Advocacy-Aktivitäten zur stärkeren Anerkennung von Menschen- und Minderheitenrechten.

 

Nagarik Aawaz wurde 2001 gegründet, als direkte Antwort auf die eskalierende Gewalt nach dem königlichen Massaker. Ihren Hauptsitz hat sie in Kathmandu. Sie unterstützt Gemeinden und Basisgruppen in ihrem Bestreben nach Frie­den, Gerech­tigkeit, Harmonie und Fortschritt, engagiert sich an ver­schie­denen Schnittstellen der Friedens- und Versöhnungsarbeit in Nepal und führt in diesem Rahmen eine Reihe von Programmen durch, die sich dezidiert an Zielgruppen richten, die besonders unter den Folgen des bewaffneten Konflikts zu leiden haben. Sie tut dies in erster Linie durch Mobilisierung von jungen AktivistInnen auf Gemeindeebene, die als sogenannte „Friedensbotschafter“ sowohl das soziale Miteinander als auch die Reintegration von Binnenflüchtlingen und Vertriebenen fördern. Durch die Kooperation mit der KURVE Wustrow wird ihre Arbeit im Bereich Konflikt Transformation gestärkt und Advocacy Bemühungen unterstützt.

 

SUPPORT Nepal engagiert sich seit 1996 in der Friedensförderung. Ziel der Organisation ist es, die existierenden Ungleichheiten und Benachteiligungen zu beseitigen, denen ethnische, religiöse und linguistische Minderheiten, Madeshi, Dalits und insbesondere auch Frauen ausgesetzt sind. In den Räumlichkeiten der Organisation angesiedelt ist das Sekretariat der National Federation of Minorities in Nepal (N-FEM), bei dem es sich um einen Dachverband von mehr als 210 Minderheitengruppen handelt. SUPPORT Nepal unterhält ein Kontaktbüro in Katmandu, arbeitet jedoch vorwiegend im östlichen und westlichen Terai und tritt für die aktive Beteiligung der Minderheitengruppen am Prozess der Erarbeitung einer neuen Verfassung und neuer Gesetze ein, so dass deren Anliegen dort angemessen berücksichtigt werden. Im Rahmen des Zivilen Friedensdiensts unterstützt die KURVE Wustrow Support Nepal über Gruppengrenzen hinweg effektive Training-, Lobby- und Advocacy-Aktivitäten durchzuführen, bei denen die Förderung der Beteiligung und Inklusion von Minderheitengruppen im Zentrum steht.

Projektdaten im Überblick



Titel:

„Stärkung lokaler Friedenskapazitäten unter Berücksichtigung von Menschen- und Minderheitenrechten“

 

Partner:

Collective Campaign for Action (COCAP)

Nagarik Aawaz 

SUPPORT Nepal 

Women for Human Rights

Asian Academy for Peace, Research and Development


Friedensfachkräfte:

Hauke Steg-Böttcher (COCAP)

Johanna Sell (Nagarik Aawaz)

Lisa Bausch (SUPPORT Nepal)

Jennifer Schönsee (Women for Human Rights)

Esther Mydla (Asian Academy for Peace, Research and Development)

Chris Hartmann (Regionalkoordinator)

Ansprechpartnerin: Laura Weber lweber(at)kurvewustrow.org