Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Southeast Asia

Civil Peace Service in Myanmar


The democratisation and transition process in Myanmar, which has been kept isolated and under authoritarian rule for decades, remains fragile. While civil society is organising itself using the newly available political space, it does not yet have sufficient capacity and appropriate access to adequately respond to peace negotiations or the limited political openings and ensure their demands are met. In particular, the participation of women does not, or only to a limited extent, exist. Moreover, Myanmar’s society is highly fragmented and the politicisation of religious, ethnic, or other differences continues to lead to social tensions. Thereby lacking are approaches and methods of civil and nonviolent conflict transformation.

 

Against this background, within the framework of the Civil Peace Service we support our local partners to achieve the following main objectives:


  • Key civil society actors in Myanmar have civil conflict management skills and apply them actively in their daily lives and work practices. They thus contribute to the dismantling of stereotypes and prejudice, counter various forms of discrimination and help to break the spiral of violence and create a more peaceful society.
  • In parallel, civil society stakeholders play an active role in the transformation process by publicising their views, needs and agendas through nonviolent campaigns, lobbying and advocacy and articulating them successfully to policy-makers. In a best-case scenario, they bring about the amendment of discriminatory legislation and procedures and, through a rights-based approach, make a significant contribution to democratic change.

 

 

Our Partners

 

Mote Oo was formed in January 2013 by staff with many years of experience working in Myanmar education. There are two offices, one in Yangon and one in Mae Sot, on the Thai-Myanmar border. Mote.Oo is a small, community-focused organisation, specializing in teacher training and the development of adult education materials. The aim is to promote social change through context appropriate materials and services for the non-formal (non-state) adult education sector. Through this, they support community educators in building a just and peaceful society. They design a range of course materials, ranging from social science, civic education and English language materials, to meet the needs of teachers and students in the non-formal adult education sector. Through the CPS-cooperation with KURVE Wustrow, Mote.Oo aims to support a comprehensive peace education in the Myanmar society. Currently, a curriculum for conflict transformation is being developed and teachers of the informal education sector will receive training on how to use and implement it.

 

The Gender and Development Initiative (GDI) is a non-governmental organisation, working with actors on all levels on the topics of equal rights for women; rights for ethnic minorities; and peace and reconciliation in Myanmar. Although based in Yangon, they pursue the aim to move away from the focus on this region and be active in other parts of the country – above all in an ethnically inclusive manner. In the framework of the CPS-cooperation KURVE Wustrow supports GDI in strengthening local capacities for civil, nonviolent conflict transformation and empowerment of women as “insider peace builders”. The expansion of Local Peace Monitoring Teams for women's rights, the development of a manual for the monitoring of ceasefire agreements, with special consideration for women's rights, as well as intense lobbying efforts are sought to contribute towards this ends.


Kalayana Mitta Foundation (KMF) began to work on issues of community development and social justice with young adults as a grassroots movement in 2008. With their work KMF aims to increase awareness, understanding and solidarity amongst the diverse ethnic and religious identities in Myanmar. KMF was registered as an NGO in 2013. The organisation understands its actions to be founded on the values of the worldwide movement of socially engaged Buddhism. KMF has offices in Yangon, Loikaw and by Inle Lake. Over the years KMF established around 30 groups of alumni across Myanmar within the context of “youth for development”. KMF further focuses on peace development, conflict management, interfaith dialogue, ecological farming, environmental justice, and the empowerment of local communities in the context of resource extraction and major infrastructure projects. As part of the cooperation within the CPS KURVE Wustrow supports KMF in the conceptual development of a peace education project and advocacy for education.

Project Details at a Glance  

Title:

“Strengthening local capacities for nonviolent conflict transformation and political participation”

 

Partners:

Ar Yone Oo

Gender and Development Initiative (GDI)

Mote Oo

Kalyana Mitta Foundation (KMF)

 

International Peace Workers:

Daniel Korth (Mote.Oo)

Anna-Lena Schulz (KMF)

Véronique Geraud (Ar Yone Oo)

Kristin Czernietzki (Regional Coordinator)

Contact Person: Henning Borchers, hborchers(at)kurvewustrow.org

a.team-item-title {color: #ffce00; font-size:16px;} /*name*/ a.team-item-title {color: #fff; font-weight:bold} /*position*/ .team-item-con-h p.team-position {color: #fff;} /*mail*/ .team-item-con-h a {color: #fff;} /*phone number*/ .team-item-con-h p {color: #fff;}

Print Friendly

Select Language

Print Friendly

Südostasien


Ziviler Friedensdienst in Myanmar


Der Demokratisierungs- und Transitionsprozess im jahrzehntelang isolierten und autoritär regierten Myanmar ist weiterhin fragil. Die Zivilgesellschaft formiert sich und nutzt die neuen Spielräume, verfügt jedoch noch nicht über ausreichend Kapazitäten und geeignete Zugänge, um adäquat auf Friedensverhandlungen oder zaghafte politische Öffnungen zu reagieren oder ihre Interessen in diese einzubringen. Insbesondere die Teilhabe von Frauen ist nicht oder in nur sehr begrenztem Maße vorhanden. Zudem ist Myanmars Gesellschaft stark fragmentiert und die Politisierung von religiösen, ethnischen, oder anderen Unterschieden führt immer wieder zu gesellschaftlichen Spannungen. Dabei fehlt es an Ansätzen und Methoden ziviler und gewaltfreier Konflikttransformation.


Vor diesem Hintergrund unterstützen wir im Rahmen des Zivilen Friedensdienstes unsere lokalen Partner darin, folgende Hauptziele zu erreichen:


  • Schlüsselakteure der burmesischen Gesellschaft verfügen über Kenntnisse in Methoden der zivilen Konfliktbearbeitung und wenden diese in ihrem Alltags- und Berufsleben aktiv an. Sie tragen hierdurch zu einem Abbau von Stereotypen und Vorurteilen bei, wirken unterschiedlichen Formen von Diskriminierungen entgegen und helfen so, die Gewaltspirale zu durchbrechen und eine friedlichere Gesellschaft zu schaffen.
  • Daneben übernehmen zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure eine aktive Rolle im Transformationsprozess, indem sie mittels gewaltfreier Aktionen sowie Lobby- und Advocacy-Aktivitäten ihre Sichtweisen, Bedürfnisse und Anliegen artikulieren und erfolgreich gegenüber politischen Entscheidungsträgern vertreten. Im besten Fall erwirken sie hiermit eine Anpassung diskriminierender Gesetze und Verfahrensweisen und gestalten auf Grundlage eines rechtebasierten Ansatzes den demokratischen Wandel maßgeblich mit.


Unsere Partner

 

Mote Oo wurde im Januar 2013 gegründet von Mitgliedern mit langjähriger Erfahrung im Bildungssektor in Myanmar. Sie haben zwei Büros, eins in Yangon und eins in Mae Sot an der Thai-Myanmar Grenze. Es ist eine kleine, lokal-geführte Organisation, die sich auf die Entwicklung von Lehrmaterialien sowie die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Lehrern im informellen Bildungssektor spezialisiert hat. Durch gezielte Angebote im Bereich Erwachsenenbildung, die den Herausforderungen des myanmarischen Kontexts Rechnung tragen, versuchen sie den sozialen Wandel in Myanmar zu unterstützen. Durch Trainings und der Entwicklung von Lehrplänen unterstützen sie Personen mit Lehrtätigkeiten in Gemeinden darin, eine gerechte und friedvolle Gesellschaft zu erbauen. Sie haben bereits eine Reihe von Lehrplänen erstellt, unter anderem im Bereich Sozialwissenschaften, Zivile Bildung und Englisch, abgestimmt auf die Bedürfnisse der Lehrer im informellen (nicht staatlichen) Bildungssektor. Im Rahmen der ZFD-Kooperation hat Mote.Oo sich das Ziel gesetzt, zu einer umfassenden Friedenserziehung der Bevölkerung beizutragen. So werden Lehrmaterialien für Konfliktbearbeitung entwickelt und Lehrer des informellen Bildungssektor aus- und weitergebildet werden.


Das Gender and Development Institute (GDI) ist eine Nichtregierungsorganisation, die mit Akteuren verschiedener Ebenen zu den Themen Gleichberechtigung von Frauen, Rechte für ethnische Minderheiten und Frieden und Versöhnung in Myanmar arbeitet. Sie hat ihren Sitz in Yangon, verfolgt aber den Anspruch, weg von der Fokussierung auf diese Region, auch in anderen Teilen des Landes aktiv und vor allem ethnisch inkludierend zu sein. Im Rahmen der ZFD-Kooperation unterstütz die KURVE Wustrow GDI darin, lokale Kapazitäten für zivile, gewaltfreie Konflikttransformation und Frauen als „Insider Peacebuilders“ zu stärken. Dies beinhaltet den Ausbau von Local Peace Teams für das Monitoring von Frauenrechten, die Entwicklung eines Manuals zum Monitoring von Waffenstillstandsabkommen, unter besondere Berücksichtigung von Frauenrechten, als auch intensive Lobbyarbeit auf nationaler Ebene.


Die Kalayana Mitta Foundation (KMF) begann 2008,  als Graswurzelbewegung mit jungen Erwachsenen im Bereich der Gemeindeentwicklung und zu Themen der sozialen Gerechtigkeit zu arbeiten. Mit ihrer Arbeit wollen sie zu mehr Einfühlungsvermögen, Verständnis und Solidarität zwischen der Vielfalt ethnischer und religiöser Identitäten in Myanmar beitragen. Seit 2013 ist KMF als NGO in Myanmar registriert. Die Organisation gründet ihr Handeln auf den Werten der weltweiten Bewegung des sozial engagierten Buddhismus. Sie hat Büros in Yangon, Loikaw sowie am Inle See. Darüberhinaus wurden im Laufe der Jahre unter dem Motto “Jugend für Entwicklung“ rund 30 Alumni Gruppen in ganz Myanmar aufgebaut und sensibilisiert.  KMF arbeitet zu den Schwerpunkthemen Friedensentwicklung, Konfliktmanagement, interreligiöser Dialog, biologische Landwirtschaft, Umweltgerechtigkeit und Empowerment lokaler Gemeinden im Kontext von Ressourcenextraktion und Mega-Infrastrukturprojekten.  Im Rahmen der ZFD Kooperation unterstützt KURVE Wustrow KMF in der Ausarbeitung eines Konzepts für friedenspädagogische Projektarbeit und Advocacyarbeit im Bildungsbereich.

Projektdaten im Überblick 

Titel:

„Stärkung lokaler Kapazitäten zur gewaltfreien Konflikttransformation und politischen Teilhabe“

 

Partner:

Ar Yone Oo

Gender and Development Initiative (GDI)

Mote Oo

Kalayana Mitta Foundation (KMF)

 

Friedensfachkräfte:

Daniel Korth (Mote Oo)

Anna-Lena Schulz (KMF)

Véronique Geraud (Ar Yone Oo)

Kristin Czernietzki (Regionalkoordinatorin)

Ansprechpartner: Henning Borchers, hborchers(at)kurvewustrow.org