Training on Nonviolence

International Training on Nonviolence in the Context of War and Armed Conflict

Since 1994 KURVE Wustrow is offering an annual "International Training on Nonviolence in the Context of War and Armed Conflict". The training is held in English and lead by three experienced trainers from three different continents. The 18-day basic course addresses staff and activists from peace initiatives, human rights groups and non-governmental organisations from all over the world.

The training offers a comprehensive introduction into civil nonviolent conflict transformation. The participants develop a broad understanding of nonviolence. They will be encouraged in their awareness, attitude and competencies towards nonviolent action. They are able to apply the contents of the training in their private as well as work contexts, and are able to pass this on as multipliers.

The training supports the exchange between participants, in particular south-south-exchanges.

The training is a shared educational learning process which involves mostly participatory exercises that elicit learning from participants’ insights and experiences.

It can be demanding and at times stressful, as this methodology pushes participants to take extra steps and share from a personal as well as from a professional level. The trainers facilitate the learning process and model a nonviolent approach to learning.

At the core of the training are the following contents:

  • Principles of nonviolence, nonviolent direct action and nonviolent conflict transformation
  • Understanding and transforming conflicts
  • Political analysis and strategy of nonviolent action
  • Reconciliation work in war torn societies
  • Human rights, Observing and reporting human rights violations
  • Dealing with stress, fear and traumatic experience
  • Consensus decision making and team work
  • Cultural and gender sensitivity
  • Social movement and online activism
  • Security issues like digital and personal security.

The participatory and experience-based training is focussed on the needs of the participants. The concrete contents and their scope will be decided with the participants at the start of the training. Exchange, reflection and practical exercises are paramount.

Spino Fante is an Anti-Bias and diversity management trainer and lives in South Africa. She has actively worked to promote values and human rights in South African schools and communities. Through the Anti-Racism and Training (ART) Network she facilitated Anti-Bias trainings in Germany and the Netherlands. She focuses on issues of inclusion, anti-discrimination and nonviolent conflict transformation.

Peter Steudtner is a trainer in nonviolent conflict transformation and a photographer / filmmaker. His training focus lies on integrated security for peace, human and environmental rights activists and on the Do No Harm-approach. In order to sensitise and empower people he combines nonviolent action and artistic approaches.

Stella Tamang is a council member of the International Network of Engaged Buddhists and lives in Kathmandu, Nepal. She is involved in various training activities in the field of nonviolent conflict resolution and in the movement of indigenous peoples.

Next Dates

  • 09.06.-26.06.2021
  • 21.06.-08.07.2022

Venue

Seminar house of KURVE Wustrow in Wustrow (Wendland)

Costs and Application

Fee

The course fee is

  • 2.500,– Euro for organisations
  • 2.000,– Euro for individuals
  • 1.250,– Euro reduced fee for individuals (upon request)

The course fee covers training material, vegetarian full board and lodging in the seminar house of KURVE Wustrow.

If lack of funds is an obstacle to your participation, please let us know. Depending on availability of funds, we may be able to offer reductions on the participation fee or cover your travel expenses partially.

Application

Applications should reach us as early as possible. We provide the application form for the respective training in due time on our website.

People in need of a visa and/or financial assistance should apply at least 14 weeks before the training starts.

All other should apply at least 6 weeks before the training starts.

Unfortunately, we cannot accept late or incomplete applications.

Please note

For people in need of visa, contact the German Embassy or Consulate as early as possible to find out the conditions for receiving a visa.

We will support you with an official invitation and cover the health insurance during your stay. All other documents must be produced by you.

Application Form for our Training on Nonviolence
The trainings are very effective. They gave me not only the necessary knowledge about peace and nonviolence, but also the opportunity to get in contact with activists from around the world.

Nasra Khan, former participant, Pakistan

Contact Persons

Jakob Meyer and Ambalika Wilhelm

it [at] kurvewustrow [dot] org (it(at)kurvewustrow.org)

Training on Nonviolence

International Training on Nonviolence in the Context of War and Armed Conflict

Die KURVE Wustrow bietet seit 1994 jährlich ein "Internationales Training für Gewaltfreiheit im Kontext von Krieg und bewaffnetem Konflikt" an. Das Training ist englischsprachig und wird von einem erfahrenen internationalen Trainingsteam angeleitet. Der 18-tägige Grundkurs richtet sich an Mitarbeiter*innen und Aktivist*innen von Friedensinitiativen, Menschenrechtsgruppen und Nichtregierungsorganisationen aus aller Welt.

Das Training bietet eine grundlegende Einführung in die zivile, gewaltfreie Konflikttransformation. Die Teilnehmenden entwickeln ein umfassendes Verständnis für Gewaltfreiheit. Sie werden in ihrem Bewusstsein, ihrer Haltung und ihren Kompetenzen zu gewaltfreiem Handeln bestärkt. Sie können die Trainingsinhalte anschließend in ihrem privaten und beruflichen Alltag anwenden und als Multiplikator*innen weitergeben.
Das Training unterstützt den Austausch zwischen den Teilnehmenden, insbesondere den Süd-Süd-Austausch.

Das Training ist ein gemeinsamer Lernprozess, welcher zumeist partizipative Übungen beinhaltet, in denen Lernen aus den Erfahrungen und Einsichten der Teilnehmenden stattfindet.

Es kann herausfordernd und manchmal stressig sein, denn diese Methode bringt die Teilnehmenden einen Schritt weiter zu gehen und sich auf persönlicher wie auch berufliche Ebene einzubringen. Die Trainer*innen begleiten den Lernprozess und bieten ein Beispiel für gewaltfreies Lernen.

Im Mittelpunkt des Trainings stehen folgende Inhalte:

  • Prinzipien der Gewaltfreiheit, gewaltfreier direkter Aktion und gewaltfreier Konfliktintervention
  • Konfliktverständnis und Konflikttransformation
  • politische Analyse und Strategie von gewaltfreier Aktion
  • Versöhnungsarbeit
  • Menschenrechte, Beobachten und Berichten über Menschenrechtsverletzungen
  • Umgang mit Belastungssituationen, Stress und Trauma
  • Entscheidungsfindung im Konsens und Teamarbeit
  • Kulturelle und Gender-Sensibilität
  • Soziale Bewegungen und Online-Aktivismus
  • Sicherheitsaspekte wie digitale und persönliche Sicherheit.

Das partizipative und erfahrungsorientierte Training ist maßgeblich an den Bedürfnissen der Teilnehmenden ausgerichtet. Die genauen Inhalte und deren Gewichtung werden zu Beginn mit den Teilnehmenden erarbeitet. Austausch, Reflexion und praktische Übungen stehen im Vordergrund.

Spino Fante ist eine Anti-Bias- und Diversity-Trainerin und lebt in Südafrika. Sie hat sich für die Umsetzung von Werten und Menschenrechte in südafrikanischen Schulen und Gemeinden eingesetzt. Durch das Anti-Racism and Training (ART) Network hat sie Anti-Bias-Trainings in Deutschland und den Niederlanden angeleitet. Ihre Schwerpunkte liegen auf Inklusion, Anti-Diskriminierung und gewaltfreier Konflikttransformation.

Peter Steudtner ist Trainer für gewaltfreie Konflikttransformation und Fotograf/Filmemacher. Seine Trainingsschwerpunkte liegen auf integrierter Sicherheit für Friedens-, Menschenrechts- und Umweltaktivist*innen und dem Do No Harm-Ansatz. Um Menschen zu sensibilisieren und zu bestärken kombiniert er gewaltfreie Aktion und künstlerische Ansätze.

Stella Tamang ist Ratsmitglied der International Network of Engaged Buddhists und lebt in Kathmandu, Nepal. Sie ist an vielfältigen Trainings zur gewaltfreien Konfliktbearbeitung und der Bewegung von indigenen Völkern beteiligt.

Nächste Termine

  • 09.06.-26.06.2021
  • 21.06.-08.07.2022

Ort

Tagungshaus der KURVE Wustrow in Wustrow (Wendland)

Kosten und Anmeldung

Teilnahmegebühr

Die Teilnahmegebühr beträgt

  • 2.500,– Euro für Organisationen
  • 2.000,– Euro für Einzelpersonen
  • 1.250,– Euro reduzierter Beitrag für Einzelpersonen (auf Anfrage)

Die Teilnahmegebühr beinhaltet Trainingsmaterial, vegetarische Vollverpflegung und Unterkunft in Mehrbettzimmern im Tagungshaus der KURVE Wustrow.

Wer die Kosten nicht in voller Höhe tragen kann, kann sich um ein Stipendium bewerben. Je nach vorhandenen Fördermitteln können wir ggf. eine Reduktion der Teilnahmegebühr gewähren und/oder einen Teil der Reisekosten übernehmen.

Anmeldung

Anmeldungen sollten möglichst frühzeitig erfolgen. Das Anmeldeformular wird rechtzeitig vor der jeweiligen Fachseminarreihe auf unserer Webseite freigeschaltet.

Interessierte, die ein Visa und/oder finanzielle Unterstützung benötigen, sollten sich spätestens 14 Wochen vor Beginn des Fachseminars anmelden.

Alle anderen Interessierten sollten sich spätestens sechs Wochen vor Beginn anmelden.

Unvollständige und kurzfristige Anmeldungen können leider nicht berücksichtigt werden.

Anmeldeformular für unser Training on Nonviolence
Die Trainings sind sehr effektiv. Sie gaben mir nicht nur das nötige Wissen über Frieden und Gewaltfreiheit, sondern ermöglichten mir Kontakte zu Aktivist*innen aus dem Rest der Welt zu knüpfen.

Nasra Khan, ehemalige Teilnehmende, Pakistan

Ansprechpersonen

Jakob Meyer und Ambalika Wilhelm

it [at] kurvewustrow [dot] org (it(at)kurvewustrow.org)