Myanmar

Our Approach

The democratisation and transition process in Myanmar, which has been kept isolated and under authoritarian rule for decades, remains fragile. While civil society is organising itself using the newly available political space, it does not yet have sufficient capacity and appropriate access to adequately respond to peace negotiations or the limited political openings and ensure their demands are met. In particular, the participation of women does not, or only to a limited extent, exist. Moreover, Myanmar’s society is highly fragmented and the politicisation of religious, ethnic, or other differences continues to lead to social tensions. Thereby lacking are approaches and methods of civil and nonviolent conflict transformation.

Against this background, within the framework of the Civil Peace Service we support our local partners to achieve the following main objectives:

Key civil society actors in Myanmar have civil conflict management skills and apply them actively in their daily lives and work practices. They thus contribute to the dismantling of stereotypes and prejudice, counter various forms of discrimination and help to break the spiral of violence and create a more peaceful society.

In parallel, civil society stakeholders play an active role in the transformation process by publicising their views, needs and agendas through nonviolent campaigns, lobbying and advocacy and articulating them successfully to policy-makers. In a best-case scenario, they bring about the amendment of discriminatory legislation and procedures and, through a rights-based approach, make a significant contribution to democratic change.

More from the Projects

Myanmar Calling II Cover KURVE Wustrow

New Video

"Myanmar Calling II" is the continuation of the story about our civil peace worker Felix Hessler. Together with Nang Lao Kham he organises peace education trainings. The participating young people tell what has changed in their lives since then.

KURVE Wustrow PeaceEducation ZFD Myanmar_a

Words like 'peace', are considered to be political

An article by journalist Wolfgang Labuhn: "Good friends in difficult times. About the work of our partner organisation "Kalyana Mitta Foundation".

KURVE Wustrow MoOo Myanmar Conflict and Peace Unit2 CPS 2017 Cover

Unique training material

Our Burmese partner organisation Mote Oo Education aims to produce high-quality training material for Myanmar's informal education sector.

The first volume of the textbook "Unit 1 Understanding Conflict" was published in 2016. One year later the second volume "Unit 2 Understanding Peace" followed.

Our Partners in the Region:

Ar Yone Oo Social Development Association (AYO-SDA) is a registered, non-political, non-sectarian and no-profit organisation operating in various parts of Myanmar. It  is committed to serve the most vulnerable people without prejudice of gender, religious or ethnic background. It initiates the establishment and capacity building of Community Based Organisations (CBOs) for sustainability of development projects. It is running several projects in Myanmar with 70 staff members and its Head Office is in Yangon.

Kalayana Mitta Foundation (KMF) began to work on issues of community development and social justice with young adults as a grassroots movement in 2008. With their work KMF aims to increase awareness, understanding and solidarity amongst the diverse ethnic and religious identities in Myanmar. KMF was registered as an NGO in 2013. The organisation understands its actions to be founded on the values of the worldwide movement of socially engaged Buddhism. KMF has offices in Yangon, Loikaw and by Inle Lake. Over the years KMF established around 30 groups of alumni across Myanmar within the context of “youth for development”. KMF further focuses on peace development, conflict management, interfaith dialogue, ecological farming, environmental justice, and the empowerment of local communities in the context of resource extraction and major infrastructure projects. As part of the cooperation within the CPS KURVE Wustrow supports KMF in the conceptual development of a peace education project and advocacy for education.

Mote Oo was formed in January 2013 by staff with many years of experience working in Myanmar education. There are two offices, one in Yangon and one in Mae Sot, on the Thai-Myanmar border. Mote.Oo is a small, community-focused organisation, specializing in teacher training and the development of adult education materials. The aim is to promote social change through context appropriate materials and services for the non-formal (non-state) adult education sector. Through this, they support community educators in building a just and peaceful society. They design a range of course materials, ranging from social science, civic education and English language materials, to meet the needs of teachers and students in the non-formal adult education sector. Through the CPS-cooperation with KURVE Wustrow, Mote.Oo aims to support a comprehensive peace education in the Myanmar society. Currently, a curriculum for conflict transformation is being developed and teachers of the informal education sector will receive training on how to use and implement it.

Description follows in due time.

Video: "Myanmar Calling Part 1". Civil Peace Service with KURVE Wustrow. How we support local peace initiatives.
Video: "Myanmar Calling Part 2". About the peacebuilding trainings of Felix Hessler and Nang Lao Kham
You want to become a peace worker?

Project Details at a Glance

Title:

“Strengthening local capacities for nonviolent conflict transformation and political participation”

International Peace Worker:

Judith Kunze (Ar Yone Oo)

Tobias Gade (KMF)

Laura Faludi (KMF) - in preparation

Felix Hessler (Mote Oo)

Sarah Halbauer (KRSDO) - in preparation

Marc Koesling (Regional Coordinator in Yangon)

Contact Person

Lisa Wevelsiep

lwevelsiep [at] kurvewustrow [dot] org (lwevelsiep(at)kurvewustrow.org)

In our media library you'll find info material, publications, videos and much more

Myanmar

Unser Ansatz

Jahrzehntelang war Myanmar isoliert und autoritär regiert. Der beginnende Demokratisierungsprozess ist äußerst fragil. Die Zivilgesellschaft formiert sich gerade erst und nutzt die neuen Spielräume. Doch sie verfügt noch nicht über ausreichend Erfahrungen, um auf Friedensverhandlungen oder zaghafte politische Öffnungen zu reagieren und ihre Interessen einzubringen. Insbesondere die Teilhabe von Frauen ist in nur sehr begrenztem Maße vorhanden. Zudem führen religiöse oder ethnische Unterschiede immer wieder zu gesellschaftlichen Spannungen. Dabei fehlt es an Ansätzen und Methoden ziviler und gewaltfreier Konflikttransformation.

Vor diesem Hintergrund unterstützen wir im Rahmen des Zivilen Friedensdienstes unsere lokalen Partner darin, folgende Ziele zu erreichen:

  • Schlüsselakteure der burmesischen Gesellschaft wenden die Methoden der zivilen Konfliktbearbeitung an. Dadurch tragen sie zu einem Abbau von Vorurteilen bei. Wenn Diskriminierungen abnehmen, kann die Gewaltspirale durchbrochen werden und eine friedlichere Gesellschaft entstehen.
  • Außerdem übernehmen zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure eine aktive Rolle beim Wandel des Landes. Mittels gewaltfreier Aktionen sowie Lobby- und Advocacy-Aktivitäten können sie ihre Anliegen deutlich machen. Und nicht nur das. Sie können sie gegenüber politischen Entscheidungsträgern auch erfolgreich vertreten. Im besten Fall erwirken sie hiermit eine Anpassung diskriminierender Gesetze. Dadurch würden sie den demokratischen Wandel maßgeblich mitbestimmen.

Mehr aus den Projekten

Myanmar Calling II Cover KURVE Wustrow

Neuer Kurzfilm

"Myanmar Calling II" ist die Fortsetzung der Geschichte über unsere Friedensfachkraft Felix Hessler. Er organisiert zusammen mit Nang Lao Kham Friedensbildungstrainings. Die teilnehmenden Jugendlichen erzählen was sich seitdem geändert hat in ihrem Leben.

KURVE Wustrow Artikel Kunze Myanmar a

„Die militärische Tradition durchdringt noch immer alles“

Der Menschenrechtsaktivist Moe Thway gewährt uns einen ungewöhnlich tiefen Einblick in die politische Situation seines Landes. 

KURVE Wustrow MoOo Myanmar Conflict and Peace Unit2 CPS 2017 Cover

Einzigartiges Lehrmaterial

Unsere burmesische Partnerorganisation Mote Oo Education hat das Ziel, hochwertige Ausbildungsmaterialien für den informellen Bildungssektor Myanmars zu erstellen.

Der erste Band des Lehrwerks „Unit 1 Understanding Conflict“ wurde 2016 veröffentlicht. Ein Jahr später erschien der zweite Band „Unit 2 Understanding Peace“.

KURVE Wustrow PeaceEducation ZFD Myanmar_a

Wörter wie 'Frieden', gelten als politisch

Artikel des Journalisten Wolfgang Labuhn: "Gute Freunde in schwierigen Zeiten." Über die Arbeit unserer Partnerorganisation „Kalyana Mitta Foundation“.

Unsere Partner in Myanmar:

Ar Yone Oo Social Development Association (AYO-SDA)  ist eine eingetragene, unpolitische, nicht-konfessionelle, gemeinnützige Organisation, die in verschiedenen Teilen Myanmars tätig ist. Die Mitglieder setzten sich für stark gefährdete Menschen ein. Sie tun das vorurteilsfrei hinsichtlich des Geschlechts und der religiösen und ethnischen Herkunft. Ar Yone Oo initiiert den Aufbau von Community Based Organisations (CBOs) mit nachhaltigen Entwicklungsprojekten. Der Hauptsitz für die landesweiten 70 Mitglieder befindet sich in Yangon.

Die Kalayana Mitta Foundation (KMF) begann 2008  als Graswurzelbewegung mit jungen Erwachsenen zu arbeiten. Sie engagieren sich für soziale Gerechtigkeit und im Bereich der Gemeindeentwicklung. Mit ihrer Arbeit wollen sie zu mehr Einfühlungsvermögen, Verständnis und Solidarität zwischen der Vielfalt ethnischer und religiöser Identitäten in Myanmar beitragen. Seit 2013 ist KMF als NGO in Myanmar registriert. Die Organisation gründet ihr Handeln auf den Werten der weltweiten Bewegung des sozial engagierten Buddhismus. Sie betreibt Büros in Yangon, in Loikaw sowie am Inle See. Darüberhinaus wurden im Laufe der Jahre unter dem Motto “Jugend für Entwicklung“ rund 30 Alumni Gruppen in ganz Myanmar aufgebaut und sensibilisiert. KMF arbeitet zu den Schwerpunkthemen Friedensentwicklung, Konfliktmanagement, interreligiöser Dialog, biologische Landwirtschaft, Umweltgerechtigkeit und Stärkung lokaler Gemeinden im Zusammenhang mit von Ressourcenabbau und Mega-Infrastrukturprojekten. Im Rahmen der ZFD-Kooperation unterstützt die KURVE Wustrow KMF in der Ausarbeitung eines Konzepts für friedenspädagogische Projekte und Advocacy im Bildungsbereich.

Mote Oo wurde 2013 von Menschen mit langjährigen Erfahrungen im burmesichen Bildungsbereich gegründet. Die kleine, lokal-geführte Organisation spezialisierte sich auf die Entwicklung von Lehrmaterialien sowie die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Lehrer*innen im informellen, also nicht staatlichen Bildungssektor. Durch gezielte Angebote im Bereich Erwachsenenbildung, treiben sie den sozialen Wandel in Myanmar voran. Durch Trainings und die Entwicklung von Lehrplänen unterstützen sie beispielsweise Personen mit Lehrtätigkeiten in Gemeinden.  Erste Lehrpläne wurden im Bereich Sozialwissenschaften, Zivile Bildung und Englisch entwickelt. Mote Oo betreibt Büros in Yangon und in Mae Sot an der Thai-Myanmar Grenze. Im Rahmen der ZFD-Kooperation setzt sich Mote Oo das Ziel, zu einer umfassenden Friedenserziehung der Bevölkerung beizutragen. So werden Lehrmaterialien für Konfliktbearbeitung entwickelt sowie Lehrkräfte des informellen Bildungssektor aus- und weitergebildet.

Beschreibung folgt in Kürze.

Du willst Friedensfachkraft werden?
Kurzfilm: "Myanmar Calling Teil 1". Ziviler Friedensdienst mit der KURVE Wustrow. Wie wir lokale Friedensinitiativen unterstützen.
Kurzfilm: "Myanmar Calling Teil 2". Über die Friedensbildungstrainings von Felix Hessler und Nang Lao Kham

Projektdaten im Überblick

Titel:

„Stärkung lokaler Kapazitäten zur gewaltfreien Konflikttransformation und politischen Teilhabe“

Friedensfachkräfte:

Judith Kunze (Ar Yone Oo)

Tobias Gade (KMF)

Laura Faludi (KMF) - in Vorbereitung

Felix Hessler (Mote Oo)

Sarah Halbauer (KRSDO) - in Vorbereitung

Marc Kösling (Regionalkoordinator in Yangon)

Ansprechperson

Lisa Wevelsiep

lwevelsiep [at] kurvewustrow [dot] org (lwevelsiep(at)kurvewustrow.org)

In unserer Mediathek finden sich Infomaterial, Publikationen, Videos und Vieles mehr